Review: Angel’s Ink by Jocelynn Drake

Standard

Angel's InkPhotobucket

So here’s the thing.

I’m a Dresdenite. I love me some Dresden Files. It was my first real taste of Urban Fantasy and it is the reason I read so many others in the genre in hopes of finding something just as good. It’s lead me to some good series and to some really, really bad ones as well. Every other UF I’ve read gets measured against the entirety of the Dresden Files, which is probably unfair but pfft, nothing says I have to be fair.

So how does this book compare?

Well, not badly really.

In fact, there’s a lot of parallels.

You have your Wizard Warlock by the name of Harry Gage who rebels against the White Council Ivory Tower Warlocks & Witches and tries to live his own life as a P.I. Tattoo Artist. All the while he has to live with the Doom of Damocles hanging over his head, knowing at any moment that Warden Morgan Guardian Gideon would gladly take his life if he broke the rules.

Yeah. So anyway…

The tattoo magic was something new and interesting and I’d like to see that explored more in depth. The world at large, what little of it we see, is intriguing and really needs some depth added to it in any future installments. And the characters were relatable, though a bit shallow. The plot was needlessly convoluted but it was obviously done as a set up for sequels.

Overall, it’s not bad. Not great, but not bad at all. Hell, even Dresden was pretty schlocky at the start.

Three Ivory Towers

Leave a Reply

