Review: Moon Called by Patricia Briggs

Standard

Photobucket

I can’t tell you how many times I considered starting this series, but put it off because of the God awful covers. Likewise, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard from friends that I should read it, that despite the God awful covers it really is a great series. Well, I finally bit the bullet and dove in…

And I’m really glad I did. The cover of this book isn’t a good indicator at all of the content within. It’s not about some trampy PNR chick being all bad ass and dark and shit, it’s about a smart and competent woman doing her best to help her friends and those in need. She’s still bad ass.. I mean she’s a mechanic, how hot is that? I’m a mechanical engineer and I can’t even work on cars. I can change a tire, do my breaks, change my oil (although I’d need a refresher for that one, haven’t bothered doing it myself in years), but that’s about all I have in my secret arsenal.

Just a side note.. I still can’t believe I’m reading and enjoying books like this. A year ago a scoffed at it all. Werewolves and vampires and other paranormal crap? No thanks. But I don’t know.. It’s just entertaining. It’s a great genre to use to break up all of the Epic Fantasy I read, and I’m glad I gave it a chance.

As for how this series compares to other Urban Fantasy out there.. I don’t know. I’m still young in my UF adventuring, having only conquered Dresden and Kate Daniels thus far. Still, I really really really enjoyed this story, and I’m very excited to check out the next book in the series.

Leave a Reply

