Review: The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

Standard

Photobucket

This book was quite a pleasant surprise! I didn’t really have any expectations going into it, a friend had  recommended it so I gave it a whirl. And damn.. I ended up really liking it.

It could have been five stars, if not for one tiny gripe.. Sometimes the little asides, the history parts (the letters, you’ll know what I mean if you read it), got to be a little tedious and dry. Luckily they tended to be pretty short, and weren’t always that bad, so it didn’t take away from my enjoyment too much. But still, it brought a five star down to about four and a half.

One of the things I liked most about it was the style of humor, it really appealed to me. It wasn’t a laugh out loud kind of funny (although I did laugh out loud a couple of times… “A gynecologist appointment… To have my vagina checked… And… it’s still… there. And okay.”) But it was more so a pleasing kind of smiley funny, where I couldn’t help but grin as I read it.

I also found the whole concept of the book to be really interesting. What would happen if I woke up tomorrow and didn’t remember anything at all? Would I have the same personality without the memories of all of the experiences that have shaped my life, and have conditioned my behavior and responses? Would I like the same foods, or is what I like conditional behavior as well?

I kept putting this down to take a break, but then I always ended up picking it right back up again because I was enjoying reading it so much. Definitely recommended, and I hope to see more from Mr. O’Malley.

Leave a Reply

