Quickie: Everything I Know About Love I Learned from Romance Novels by Sarah Wendell

Standard

Photobucket

Straight from the heart of romance blogger Wendell, this inventive gift book provides the best wisdom about love that the romance genre has to offer. Laced with signature witty commentary and peppered with thoughts from bestselling romance authors and avid readers, these pages reveal that while romances are certainly steamy, they have more to offer than just a sexy hero.

It took me forever to finish this book, but I really enjoyed myself!

EIKAL (as it is fondly called) is a love letter (essay style) to romance books and their readers. It’s very much preaching to the choir but it could also (possibly) persuade non-romance readers as to the benefits of reading romances.

I would also find this book to be highly educational for a romance reader to give to a non-romance reader who is clueless as to why people love romances so much.

For me, I felt that the book forced me to seriously think about what draws me to romance books. I often find myself reading romances when I’m sad or stressed or depressed. I never understood or even questioned why – I just did.

Written in SB Sarah Wendell’s typical upbeat, comical and chatty style, EIKAL is very easy to read and rather funny.

Another great thing about this book is the enormous amounts of recommendations to be found here. I started reading this book forever ago but just finished. Why? Because I constantly found myself being side-tracked by new (to me) authors.

I lay my current Jennifer Crusie addiction squarely at SB Sarah’s feet.

As much as I loved this book, I can’t see someone who does not already read romances picking this up. I do see people who read romances buying this for someone who doesn’t understand.

Leave a Reply

