Amalahs Destiny? The Trash Can.

Standard

The Destiny of AmalahPhotobucket

The Destiny of Amalah by Thandi Ryan

I recieved this via an author submission to this blog. I didn’t seek it out nor pay for it nor recieved any form of recompense for reading it. Though, honestly, I feel like I deserve to be paid for having read what little of it I managed to get through.

An epic fantasy novel about the city/nation of Amalah, its Empress, the evil sorceror bent on their destruction and the pantheon of Gods that do… well, god-like things, I suppose.

I don’t really know how the Gods play into it as I didn’t really get that far. A mere quarter of the way through was all I managed before giving up. Before being forced to give it up, really. Icouldn’t go any further in the book. It was so bad it had become almost physically painful to keep reading.

A bit much, you say?

Well, here’s a small paragraph as an example of the writing(bolding is mine):

“Michael let out a scream as he was forcefully dragged back and forced to face the guard who still had hold of him. The guard was clearly angry and he glared balefully at Michael. He let go of the boy momentarily, only to deliver a forceful backhand to Michael’s face that sent him crashing to the ground.”

And this is actually one of the better written parts.

I kid you not.

I had barely gotten a few pages into the story when I noticed, to my dismay, that there were colons and semicolons and commas strewn about like roofing shingles after a tornado. All haphazard and random and making absolutely no sense whatsoever. Sentences and paragraphs that should have been simple became a jumbled landscape through which the intrepid reader was forced to navigate, hoping not to become buried by a landslide of commas or impaled on a dangling participle. The further I read the worse it became.

After only making it twenty-five percent of the way through this book there were already an awful lot of things that had happened in the story. A great many things, really. Enough for an entire book.  Or, at the least, an overly long novella. Sadly, it all transpired in the most boring fashion imaginable. The prose and pacing were so god awful as to be non-existant, flowing as well as a one legged zombie shambling uphill during an earthquake. Backwards.

The dialogue is no better. Every single character speaks with the exact same voice. Every. Single. One. There were no differences here, no variations amongst them, no uniqueness at all. It doesn’t matter if it is a child or an old man, a princess or a soldier, from the far east or the frozen north: every single character speaks with the same stilted and forced formality that has never and will never feel natural or real.

And all of this can be seen in just the first dozen chapters alone.

This book, in its current form, should never have seen the light of day. I’ve never really quit a book like this before. It’s been almost a point of pride with me, my ability to get through any book regardless of how bad it was. But this book? This book had me fearing for the well being of my very soul.

Do not read this book, I implore you. It is not worth the emotional or mental scarring that will occur.

One lawsuit for mental anguish star.

Did Not Finish

Leave a Reply

