Review: The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Standard

Photobucket

Confession time! The Princess Bride. Everyone has seen it. Everyone who loved the movie has read it. Right? Right? Not quite. You see…. I may have to turn in my geek card for admitting this, but I’m just going to come clean. I’ve seen approximately half of the movie, and I didn’t even know there was a book. And to be honest.. When I found out there was a book I never planned to read it. I don’t even know why I decided to pick it up now, I just had a random urge to read it, so I went with it. And holy shit.. So glad I did. I absolutely loved this book! It was so damn funny, and so damn good. I just loved it.. I loved every single minute of it.

There were so many good sections.. So many good quotes. Now that I’ve read it, I can’t wait to try the movie again. I have a feeling I’ll like it so much more now that I’ve fallen in love with the story.

Seriously.. If you haven’t read it, and you like good, quick, funny, fantasy.. This is your book. Read it, you won’t regret it. I’ll leave you with one of my favorite lines from the book. No, not “Inconceivable!” And no, not “Hello, my name is Inigo Montoya, you killed my father, prepare to die.” My favorite line was something a little more simple, that really hit home for me.

“But I also have to say, for the umpty-umpth time, that life isn’t fair. It’s just fairer than death, that’s all.”

And coming in a close second…

“I love you […] I know this must come as something of a surprise, since all I’ve ever done is scorn you and degrade you and taunt you, but I have loved you for several hours now, and every second, more.”

I LOL-ed a lot at that one.

Seriously.. Good shit right here. An instant favorite.

2 responses »

  1. So glad you liked it! I adore this book – it’s much better than the film, as they miss out s much in the film. I first had the book read to me by my partner while we were on holiday in France, which also maybe put a bit of a glow on it… 🙂

Leave a Reply

