Review: Shadow’s Edge by Brent Weeks

Standard

Photobucket

Holy mother, this book was good. I thought The Way of Shadows was good, but it was nothing compared to this one! Weeks really hit his stride in this volume of the story, and I absolutely loved every minute of it.

It’s been a long time since I got really emotionally drawn into a good old fashioned fantasy trilogy. I don’t know when exactly it happened, but this series definitely broke that dry spell. I don’t remember feeling quite so emotionally attached to the characters while reading The Way of Shadows.. And I’m not quite sure when exactly I became attached to them. I didn’t even realize I was attached to them until… Well I can’t say what it was, because that would spoil it, and I’d determined to make this a spoiler free review. But the thingy thing I’m talking about? I did not see it coming at all, and my heart was instantly broken. That’s when I realized this characters had become real to me, and there was no turning back.

And damn. The twist in the epilogue? Did not see that coming either. There was just so much good in this book.. I want to gush and gush about all of the things I loved about it, but I don’t want my review to be full of spoilers, so I’m forcing myself to hold back.

Bottom line – if you liked the first book, you won’t be disappointed by this one. In fact, I think you’ll be pretty damn impressed by it. It’s not often that I end up rating the second in a series higher than the first in the series, but it’s happening with Night Angel. Five stars…. And now I have to wrap this up, so I can get to reading book three!

Leave a Reply

