Lie to me, Locke Lamora! (A Review)

Standard

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards, #1)Photobucket

4.5 Stars

If books were boys, with the exception of two really awesome but short flings, my relationships in 2012 would be stuck firmly in the dreaded friend-zone.

But this book, this book took me by surprise…For about 200 pages, I thought this was another book for the friend-zone. It was good, smart and funny, but it didn’t really hook me until almost the mid-point. After that, I couldn’t get enough. After that, when everything started to come together, I realized how masterful this book is, and how it snared me without my even realizing it. I kept coming back for more because I just needed to know what would come next. If books were boys, this one would be my boyfriend.

Well… for a while, anyway. 😉

If I were to name a flaw, I would have to place it firmly in the area of dialogue. Sometimes, when the action was getting wild, I wanted less decorum and more urgency. There were times that I just didn’t feel that things were as dire as they should have felt, because always the ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ and ‘if you wouldn’t mind terribly’ manners and niceties were in place. This one thing took me out of the moment, and it was hard to get back. Don’t play nice, I can take it! This is an odd complaint to make, because usually people refer to this book as pretty foul-mouthed. And I like that… I just wanted it to be consistent. Be foul-mouthed when you’re with the boys, when shit is hitting fans, when you’re not in character as someone less foul-mouthed… Talk dirty, damn it!

Otherwise, I really, really loved it. I loved the characters, the plot, the way things fit together neatly, the way I never knew what to expect. I loved the concept, the way it was written, the interludes setting the stage as well as expertly foreshadowing events to come. I loved how the Gentlemen Bastards knew their strengths and played well to them, and that they knew their weaknesses and just didn’t give a shit. I loved how the story built layer upon layer and how each little bit was parceled out just enough so that I was kept on my toes without ever feeling manipulated. This was expertly done… to be able to watch the characters playing cat and mouse with each other, none ever knowing who is playing which role, and allow the reader to slip in and play along without ever feeling that their own strings are being pulled… Well played, Scott Lynch. Well played, indeed.

So Locke and I might have a lasting relationship here… and open one, but we’re OK with that. We’ll just have to see where the next stage in our relationship takes us…

Here’s what I imagine our love child to look like. Innocent looking little tyke, isn’t he? 😉
Photobucket

View all my reviews

One response »

Leave a Reply

