Review: The Warded (Painted) Man by Peter V. Brett

Standard

Photobucket

I’m not sure what to call this book. Warded Man? Painted Man? I can see the logic in both titles. Painted Man because the man was all painted up and shit.. Warded Man because that paint made wards so he was all warded up and shit.. I really don’t understand the need for the title change when it was released in the US. At least that’s what I think happened… I didn’t use my google-fu to figure it out, I could but I’m feeling lazy at the moment. I just think that’s what I might have heard at one point or another. But I’m rambling. For the sake of this review, I’m just going to call it Warded Man, because that’s what it says on the cover of the edition I read.

Oh, wait.. You want me to actually talk about the book? Well that’s a little strange.. I was just going to write this review all about the title.. But I guess I could say what I actually thought about the book. In short? I Loved it. It was completely different than I expected, and in such a good way. I honestly don’t know what I was expecting when I picked it up. I had heard so many good things about it, I expected to like it.. I didn’t expect to love it though.

It drew me in right from the first chapter, and I couldn’t help but feel connected to each and every character. The story was interesting, and kept me turning the pages, wanting to find out more. Some books you don’t want to put down.. This one I really couldn’t put down. I love that feeling!

I definitely recommend that any and all fantasy fans at least give this a shot, even if it doesn’t sound like your thing. It didn’t really appeal to me based on the blurb, so if it wasn’t for all of the good things I had heard about it, I might never have read it. And that would have been a sad sad thing… So read it. I command it of you. Put down that other sub par book you’re trying to sludge through and pick this up. You probably won’t regret it but maybe will because you can never really tell what makes a book appeal to one person and not to another but I said it’s good so it’s probably good but maybe not but probably is but just don’t come to me crying if you don’t like it. That wasn’t a run on sentence, it made perfect sense to me. Perfect sense.

I’m actually writing this review after having already read and written a review for Desert Spear, which I love love loved as well. So just saying.. It stays good. I can only hope that Brett keeps it up with the next installment, due out whenever. I haven’t checked. I’m excited.. But I can wait. Seriously.. Take your time Mr. Brett. Make it good. Fulfill my book nympho desires. *cough*sendmeanARC*cough*. Maybe? Please? Pretty please? I’ll read it good and hard like it’s never been read before. Just saying… Think about it 😉

Leave a Reply

