Quickie: The Ship Who Searched by Anne McCaffrey & Mercedes Lackey

Standard

Photobucket

The Ship Who Searched is one of my favorite books in the Brain & Brawn (Brainship) series. Most of the books in this series are stand alones, so it is possible to read them out of order.

Tia is a 7 year old genius when she is struck by a mysterious virus that completely killed her body’s nervous system. She became paralyzed from the neck down, needing 100% life support. She was going to end up spending the rest of her life in a sterile hospital room somewhere. Because of her maturity and genius she is accepted into the brainship program. This program will place her physical body inside a titanium shell, connect her brain to electronic synapses, and teach her how to fly. Tia is to become a brainship – a person whose physical body is an interstellar spaceship. She will also get a brawn – Alex – a person trained to work with her as her physical presence as well as constant companion.

Tia & Alex have numerous adventures in this book – but main focus for both Tia & Alex is locating the virus that almost destroyed her entire life.

The Ship Who Searched is a great book! The characters are well formed and the adventures are interesting. The pace is quick and engrossing. There’s not too much more to say without spoiling the plot(s).

About MrsJoseph

I'm a hardcore fantasy reader....when I'm not a hardcore romance reader, lol! I read a little bit of everything and I'm more than willing to give my opinion on it all... I try to be nice in my reviews but nice doesn't mean "positive." I have complete ideas on how the books I enjoy should flow...so don't be surprised if I don't love your work. All my reviews are checked by Benji the Wonderpup...so please excuse the paw prints.

2 responses »

  1. Sounds goods! I know you swear by Mercedes Lackey and I want to try her (and more SciFi and Fantasy, generally) but most likely not in 2012 – just too much on the to-read pile for next year 😦

Leave a Reply

